September I Remember

September is a transition month; it is both the end and the beginning. With a summer so strong and vigorous I thought for sure this time it would overcome the cold when winter came knocking. But then September arrived and summer began to surrender and drop to its knees. Autumn enters stage right and summer exits stage left, for a brief moment they both meet, shake hands and part.

The hummingbirds have begun migrating though they hardly finished their feeder hanging off the end of the porch. The fireflies are long gone and won’t appear again until next April or May. But the most telling sign of fall coming on is the great migration of good ol’ boys from the fishing aisle to the hunting aisle at the local Walmart. When I have questions about either hunting or fishing I can always find my answer on one of those aisles. Wait around long enough and one of those boys will come ambling up. When I ask if they know much about hunting or fishing and they say, “Not much, what’s your question?”, I know I have found my guru. It’s that mid-western modesty that holds them back from stepping up to the podium as an expert. But that’s what you find in these aisles and they’re always glad to help. Though I’ve learned a lot from these guys, I think I’ll always assume the position of a student until the end of my days, you get more willing teachers when you present yourself teachable. 

The harvest moon found us with a few friends on an evening float down the river. We put in about 9:30 and finished around midnight. The evening was warm enough to enjoy the frogs croaking while the moonlight danced on the water. That was a first for all of us and we agreed that moonlit floats would be added to our list of things to do next summer.

My daughter and I went digging for ginseng a couple weeks ago and pulled in a fair amount. There were Pawpaw trees in the same area too so we were able to add their fruit to our growing pile. Pawpaw fruit is shaped like an egg and is about the same size, give or take. It smells tropical and tastes tropical with the consistency of a banana. It’s so good I’m surprised not see it in the grocery stores.

I finally did get one last watermelon out of the garden and I also planted some lettuce, spinach and broccoli for the cooler days and nights. My peppers and tomatoes are the last hold outs still putting out their fruit as they quietly await death from the first freeze soon to come. I feel like a hospice worker checking in on them daily, fluffing their pillows, making sure they’re comfortable and wondering when that fateful day will arrive.

As I packed up my summer clothes in the box that held my winter, I put aside a pair of shorts for that one very warm day that maybe just maybe will appear one last time. I had nice tan legs this year and I’ve learned that the easiest way to make skinny legs look good is to give them a great tan. It sure beats hours in the gym.

Before we closed the door to summer we went to one last summer BBQ at the end of the month. The gentleman giving the mealtime prayer didn’t end with the standard and formal “amen” but instead he simply said, “I’ll talk to you later”. That’s pretty much how I feel about summer too.  

Published in: on October 7, 2010 at 10:15 am  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lettersfromtheozarks.wordpress.com/2010/10/07/september-i-remember/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Love the idea of a moonlit,late-summer float! That is an idea I will hope to adopt for next year…bet you’re gonna wear that one pair of shorts quite a bit more….isn’t October grand?!

  2. Again, I love your writing – is a wonderful treat to savor as I sip my morning coffee. I wasn’t so smart – I didn’t leave out a pair of shorts and we’re having 80 degree days here in MN – interesting contrast, leaves golden, yellow and red and it feels like the middle of July.

  3. Lovely! (Finally read September’s.)


Leave a Reply

